How to bookmark "Burma Society"
You have arrived in Planet Burma. Would you prefer Planet Myanmar?
If so, please click HERE.

Aims of the Britain-Burma Society

Britain-Burma Society
PRESIDENT: Robert Gordon, CMG, OBE

PATRON: HE U Kyaw Myo Htut, Ambassador of the Union of Myanmar.

The Britain-Burma Society was founded in 1957 under the distinguished patronage of Earl Mountbatten of Burma, Sir Hubert Rance (formerly Governor of Burma), Miss Dorothy Woodman, the Rt. Hon. Malcolm Macdonald, the Rt. Hon. Arthur Bottomley and others.

The Constitution states The Society shall be non-political and have as its object the fostering of friendship and understanding between British people interested in Burma (Myanmar) and Burmese people, especially the encouragement of cultural and social relations between the two countries. The Society is non profit making.

The Society holds six meetings a year (for members and their guests only) in London. The October meeting was traditionally a reception for newly arrived Burmese trainees and students at the start of the academic year in Britain, as the Society has always been concerned to make them feel at home in this country. During recent years however the very few trainees from Burma are mostly based outside London and unable to be present at the October reception, which has become solely an opportunity for members to meet again after the 3-month summer break. The remaining evening meetings (November, February, March, May and June) are devoted to lectures, slide and film shows, and reports from recent visitors to Burma. Light refreshments are always served. There is sometimes a very enjoyable Society boat trip on the river Thames around the first Sunday in September.

Membership is open to all individuals or bodies interested in the aims of the Society. Individual members pay an annual subscription of 10.00 (or $14.95 when joining on the web site). In addition, members pay 5.00 at the door of regular meetings - half price for students. Persons wishing to join should fill in our form on this web site.

The Chairman of the Society is John Okell (tel: 0181 440 6096) the Membership Secretary is Barbara Brown (Address: 'HAKA', 202 Croham Valley Road, South Croydon, Surrey CR2 7RB; email: The Meetings Secretary is Tony Cantor and the Book Editor is Patricia Herbert.

Queries to the Society can be emailed to: